Many people believe that social networking sites (Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree?

In this modern world, technological advancements in the field of media and communication have brought many significant changes in society. Many developments have been noticed soon after the introduction of social networking sites. As per the given statement, It has been argued by many people that these networking sites mostly have negative impacts on any person and society. I do not completely agree with this opinion and will discuss my points in this essay. To begin, the Internet and social network applications have created a new global world and given many advantages. Certainly, possibilities that were never thought of earlier have emerged and changed this society completely. For instance, an easy interaction between individuals in a family and at office places from a distance. If a family member has gone for some study or work purpose to a different place, it is now possible to stay connected with him or her on a routine basis. Furthermore, one could find old friends or make new ones, arrange meetings, post pictures, advertise and demonstrate any business through these sites. Popularly, Facebook, Instagram, ticktok, Snapchat and many others have influenced adults as well as children. Nevertheless, despite having many benefits, there are some drawbacks too. People are spending a lot of time on these sites and subsequently, there is now a loss of creativity and efficiency. Also, as some people choose to brag and give information about all their personal activities to the world, later they regret their own behaviours. For example, interesting news came a few years back that while a family was posting its vacation pictures and planned holidays, meanwhile, thieves traced details from their previous Facebook posts, conducted a crime and looted their home. Another point is the effect on young brains and lack of interest in physical activities and in-person meetings which is not making a healthy society.  In conclusion, social sites have completely changed the world in the last two centuries and have many negative effects. However, I do not agree with the statement. Apart from negative developments, there are many positive changes too and need a guided approach to make it more useful rather than facing a ban due to its wrong usage.