In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a lot of customers prefer to buy their goods in the mall and the big shopping centre. At some point, this brings a negative impact to the local store in the area because of the lack of customers. This essay will prove why this is bad and the solution to how to solve this issue. On the one hand, customers ’ preferences have been shifted from buying basic needs to buying secondary needs. This led to the trend where people purchase stuff in the big shopping centre because this centre provides a lot of collections. For example, malls provide more complete collection items in the fashion sector rather than at a local store. Also, fancy fragrances and items are available in this type of store. On the other hand, this will cause losses to local shops because they cannot compete with the large shopping centres. Not only because they lack of variety of goods but also because they are lacking in terms of marketing. Therefore, the solution to this problem is to educate local shops on how they can attract customers, brand their goods and also provide unique items with specific segmentation. For example, local shops could be famous by selling unique items that bring cultural values to the customers. Thus, this step will convince tourists and visitors to buy the items. In conclusion, malls and large shopping centres in fact cause significant losses to local stores. However we could tackle this problem, by giving education and training for sellers in the countryside to be more clever. As a result, they will survive in the market and be profitable.