Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Whilst some individuals consider that the best solution to improve public health is to raise the number of sports facilities because they have a huge impact on public health, I completely disagree with this view for some reasons. On the one hand, sports facilities can help individuals to improve and maintain their health since accessible sports facilities may increase participation. For instance, no one can go far away to do exercise; nevertheless, in a situation where such facilities can be settled in more and more numbers in the city centre, many people can go to these facilities. Therefore, it plays a pivotal role in improving public health. On the other hand, the primary reason for rejecting this view, it may cause some problems such that governments put the responsibility only on sports facilities. This is a crucial mistake to improve public health because public health consists of many different parts. To exemplify, the most important part is to vaccinate against dangerous viruses. Comparing the benefits of vaccination with the benefits of a growing number of sports facilities reveals how critical the importance of vaccination is. A good example of this is the Covid-19 outbreak. People must be vaccinated to eradicate the virus. The second reason why this statement is not accepted is that many people cannot separate their time on doing exercise because of their workload. Authorities can build up sports facilities or open new facilities, however, it is a waste of money unless people do not find enough time to do sports. To conclude, if people only focus on increasing sports facilities, this situation gives rise to overlooking the most crucial elements to improve public health. Therefore, this statement is not admitted.