Some people believe that unpaid community services should be the compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that voluntary work can help high school students to improve their social skills. Some commentators are of the view that schools should make it a necessary part of their curriculum, while, others do not. I agree with the perspective that voluntary community services should be a compulsory segment of the higher secondary school facilities. From an overall perspective, there are two main reasons why voluntary activities are beneficial for learners and it should be a mandatory part of their education. Firstly, students can improve their communication skills. This is because, when they participate in community work they can able to learn a significant amount of knowledge about real-life conditions. For instance, by participating in an adult care facility as a volunteer, students can acquire a deep knowledge about the different stages of life. So it will enhance their maturity. Secondly, When they do unpaid community services such as, helping people to learn how to use the Internet, and how to order services by using mobile phone applications, students can able to understand a variety of social problems and that can motivate them to find different creative as well as innovative solutions of numerous community problems. Furthermore, voluntary work gives them early exposure to real-life job experiences. On the other hand, if unpaid voluntary services become a necessary part of the syllabus, students may treat it as a pressure. As a result, they might start to avoid it and lose their enthusiasm. Another point is that students have to study a lot and different theories in their classes and they have to face education-related pressure. That's why, making voluntary services compulsory could be a counterproductive approach. In conclusion, after comparing both views I agree with the notion that school voluntary services should be mandatory coursework. Because in this era of social media and computer games, it will create an option that will be beneficial for students as a whole.