In many countries, people increasingly talk about money (how much they earn or how much they pay for things) in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is a well-documented fact that more and more people participate in conversations related to money like how much their salary is or how much a particular thing costs in many nations. This essay will point out possible reasons that lead to that kind of talk before analyzing why the aforementioned trend can be beneficial. There have been plenty of reasons for the general public to get involved in money talk. First and foremost, simply, they would like to find out if they are being underpaid. The key rationale is that as the fast-pace growth of today’s world, many businesses are mushrooming. Therefore, in order to be given the best working opportunities, it is essential that they have knowledge about the salary or income of their peers’ workplace to know if they are paid properly in terms of their ability. Another worth-noting point is the desire to assert oneself in some cases. Since the amount of money someone owns is widely considered to be a measurement for their success, sometimes bragging about monthly income makes people feel proud about themselves. Having conversations about money can bring advantages because of some following reasons. First of all, sharing about money can probably help individuals learn useful budget tools and tricks. Except for some people with bad intentions such as showing off their wealth to humiliate others, in a majority of situations, we can widen our knowledge about financial management once we bring up the topic. Furthermore, it is likely that we can dispel some of the stigma that comes with talking about money. This could be reasoned by the fact that dealing with money talk is becoming an essential part of our daily conversations, therefore, chatting more about this subject can probably eradicate the uneasiness among people. Because speaking candidly about money may turn this subject into a normal one and encourage other parties to join in the talk as well. In conclusion, I believe that possible justifications about conversations related to money are often associated with making healthy comparisons with peers and self-assertion. Also, talking about money is necessary because of the need to learn about controlling finance and ease the shame arising from the money topic.