Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

It is sometimes said that there is an excessive amount of harmful information on the internet and the only way to rid of it is for the authorities to make inappropriate content illegal. I do accept that this approach is effective,but I think that there might be a different way to solve this issue. Nowadays, we can see a tremendous amount of harmful information which contains violent scenes or promotes gambling. The governments have powerful tools to solve this issue. If they legislate in order to make this content illegal, it will eradicate a threat to the internet consumers. A similar legislation is used in several countries according to some social media platforms and and is effective there. Take China, for example, where the population cannot use TikTok, which is one of the sources of harmful videos. If people break the law, they will be fined or will be taken to prison after repetitive offences. However, I take the view that if the level of people's awareness is increased, it can enable to succeed in addressing the problem. This is because nowadays people who live their lives in the fast line do not pay too much attention to what they consume and quite often cannot distinguish whether the flow of information they watch on the internet has a positive or negative influence on themselves or their nearest and dearest. That is why the local authorities might launch a programme to increase public awareness regarding harmful information in the virtual world. For instance, they might start social advertisement, including a specific subject about internet content and its influence on societies. As a result, it can draw people's attention and decrease the consumption of violent or cruel information significantly. In conclusion, although I accept that the government should control what information is available online, I a convinced that increasing people's awareness will also be an effective method to tackle the problem.