Some parents believe that their children should do extracurricular activities after school. Others say in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While many people are convinced that extracurricular activities are necessary for children after school, some people argue that they should decrease the stress level of their children. In my opinion, I consider that extra-curricular activities help students to improve their own skills for their future life. On the one hand, some people support the opinion that students who join extra-curricular activities often develop their character which may be useful in the future, and I agree. That is to say, students usually will be forced to learn social skills and teamwork which academic subjects do not teach. For example, children who need to complete their group work should push themselves to communicate with others. Moreover, joining extra-curricular activities, such as sports may help people to reduce their stress levels and possess other skills at the same time. On the other hand, it is commonly believed that it is better if children are not involved in any extra-curricular activities after school. As people, everyone has their own right to choose their interests, so students who prefer to focus only on their academic subjects should not be forced to participate in extra activities. Forcing extra-curricular activities on children does not promote any independence or autonomy, only would be counterproductive. Furthermore, some students are already overloaded with their homework. If they keep joining extra activities, it will increase their stress level. For instance, students who are given daily homework will have a lot of stress because,by the time they reach home, they will be too tired to work on their assignments. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion.I think that students should consider their own abilities and time to decide whether to participate in extracurricular activities or not.