Too much emphasis is placed on going university for academic study. People should be encouraged to do vocational training, because there is a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians or plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Arguments on whether an individual should go to university for academic study or should be encouraged to do vocational training have been in discussion for years. I have some concerns over vocational training as compared to academic studies. I believe skills can also be extracted from the courses we do in university programs. Let's talk about the difference between the two arguments. Academic study is one of the most integral parts of your success. Without having knowledge, one cannot survive in a market full of skilled workers. Education feeds an individual with all the skills that he/she has been willing to get. It provides a proper way of progressing in your career. Most people are encouraged to get courses related to their expertise. This can backfire them in times of need because they only have knowledge of specific domains. Whereas, people who have completed their academic studies can perform far better than individuals who are limited to specific courses. For example, electrical engineering from the university provides far better options to practice their skills in a field with different types of techniques. Vocational training can be useful for people above the age of 40 who were unable to attend universities earlier. These trainings can be helpful for these kind of people as they want to cut it short and be directional. As I said earlier, this can only benefit for a short period of time and can play a negative role in your career path. For example, Pakistan produces a lot of skilled workers who have done some short courses and got skills according to their needs. Plumbers are all equipped with some sort of training, gained from small schools In conclusion, education can provide various benefits to an individual as compared to vocational seminars. It is more organized and stretches into many branches. Short courses can be useful at some stages but not in all paradigms.