Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this positive or negative development?

The Internet and online social networking sites have brought significant changes in the medium of communication over the last few years. Certainly, some people still prefer to have meetings in person, while many found an online communication medium more beneficial and an easy way to have connections with friends, families and even official meetings. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online socialization. To begin with regard to the positive changes after the introduction of online social applications. So, first and most important is the ability to have global connections which are basically meetings nationally and internationally and therefore people are now able to connect with others from a distance. For instance, a working family member or a student, when moves to another country, it is now possible to do daily chatting so families remain connected with each other. Also, one can conduct an office meeting from anywhere and can expand his or her business thus providing an opportunity for potential economic growth. However, having said so, online socialising platforms do have some negative effects too. With the popularity of Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat and other social networking sites, more and more people remain alone at home in front of computer screens for long hours. This has resulted in a lack of physical bonding, love and respect and therefore it is not a surprise that these days psychological concerns have grown in society. Even though it is easy to talk, nevertheless, people started to have feelings of loneliness which is affecting their mental and physical health. For example, many hospital reports have shown increasing numbers of admissions of youngsters with illnesses like depression, mania and others. In conclusion, in this modern world, most youngsters and even the elderly choose to have online meetings and even social gatherings rather than physical ones. I believe, the overuse of any such application is harmful and people should make a balance in order to enjoy this gift of science with their physical and mental health.