University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is generally believed that educational institutions should be free of charge despite their socio-economic background. Although this action seems negative to a certain extent because of the lessening value of education, I suppose that it would be more positive owing to an equal chance of schooling and better economic growth. On the one hand, this action can be negative because free academic education can lessen the value of learning. With free teaching, students may fail to appreciate learning opportunities; thereby, they would not try their best in their studies. Consequently, a valuable number of resources that can be used for other important sectors such as health care and poverty management are wasted in an ineffective education. Hence, if students have to pay tuition fees, they may overeat and become obligated to their studies. On the other hand, I am more convinced that free university education can have some beneficial sides. Chief of these is that it creates an equal chance of learning. When universities provide free education, students including those who come from lower socioeconomic backgrounds can attend. Free university schooling acts as a precursor to help students have a chance to get higher qualifications which can create stable jobs later for students. To illustrate, The Government in Vietnam provides a free university curriculum for students coming from mountainous areas or disadvantaged people to help them grab onto proper studying opportunities. Furthermore, free-of-charge university education also builds better economic growth. When every student has opportunities to access higher study, the rate of qualified and skillful workers increases which can generate better productivity, more inventions as well and high-quality products. In conclusion, free university education has both positive and negative aspects. While I recognize the possible negatives of this action as mitigating the education value, I am inclined to believe it to be an optimistic development due to its benefits including equal chance of education and better economic growth. It is advisable that governments should aid students with financial support packages as well as scholarships to help them reach their maximum potential in their career prospects.