Some people argue that we should do research into their family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations rather than the past history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a controversy that we should understand our family history while other people think that we should pay attention to the current and future rather than the past events. In my opinion, both views are reasonable and I would like to discuss them. On the one hand, researching family and relatives' history can be a good thing for everyone to empathize with and be proud of family traditions. For example, the children could review the difficult times of their family or some heroic stories about the country's protection during wartime from their grandparents then they will appreciate their current peaceful lives. Moreover, understanding family information could help people be aware of the risks of family genetic diseases. Therefore, people can get advice from a doctor and have some intervention before facing the same serious health problems. On the other hand, in some cases, we should not dig into the family’s history but must focus on the current and future. Firstly, when people try to deeply understand the family's past, this may lead to detrimental information that they should not know or regret to know. The children may be shocked by the bad habits of their fathers such as stealing or violating which can drive them to the wrong mindset and illegal actions. Moreover, this will take time and resources for everyone to deep dive into the family’s stuck. As a result, the more information you figure out, the more effort you need to put into it but not all the information is always good things. In conclusion, I think that understanding family history may have both pros and cons that everyone should take into consideration when conducting this research.