Some people say the government is wasting money on arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that government funding can better be utilised to resolve other issues instead of Arts. In an essay, I will express both my views and will provide a conclusion as well. Let's begin with discussing the benefits of investing in the Arts. Firstly, Art is the best tool to express ideas and communicate concepts. In addition, it has been used to educate people in many social awareness campaigns in order to make positive impacts. Secondly, all the Arts are very therapeutic, they help people to overcome their mental and emotional traumas. Moreover, there are many art forms that are also effective in order to improve physical strength and make us active. Lastly, all the Arts reflect culture and society. Therefore, preserving Art means saving our culture. For example, in India, the government spent a lot of money to form a Film Archiving Society to preserve our cultural heritage, in which many Indian films from the past have been restored. However, there are many other vital issues for which government funding is most required. Firstly, improvement in the health system is the need of the hour. Besides, the education system requires more attention as that is the basis for a cultured society. Secondly, the artists should look for patrons, there are many people who subsidise the Art. Furthermore, subsidising the arts has been a part of the ancient culture and it still exists. Finally, government funding must prioritised to fulfil the basic needs of the people like food, clothes and housing as arts are counted in luxurious segments. For instance, investing money in social welfare would be more beneficial than in movies. In conclusion, although Art is important to preserving culture and entertaining people, there are other basic needs like poverty that require much attention. In my opinion, governments around the world should balance out their investment in arts and other basic needs to achieve a quality of life.