Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, advertisements can be seen everywhere and are presented in different forms. However, whether advertising is persuasive enough to catch the eye of its audiences is certainly up for debate. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this issue and conclude by explaining my own. Some believe that advertising is the best way to campaign products due to its wide-spreading and eye-catching features. When new products initially hit the market, they are usually unknown to the public, therefore companies need advertisements as pathways to immediately increase their exposure. Given that KOLs and Youtubers are currently the most popular influencers, many companies would promote their goods through the articles and videos generated by them. For example, in addition to makeup tutorial content, fashion YouTubers sometimes will upload unboxing videos to share their appreciation for a certain brand or product. To the audiences, comments made by influencers are more realistic to them compared to the one-sided positive statements made by manufacturers themselves. In contrast, opponents argue that the overwhelming amount of advertisements has lowered the public's attention. With the help of technology and influencer marketing, investing in large-scale advertisements is no longer the privilege of big corporations. Nonetheless, in this world where everyone can randomly complement a product and get sponsored by companies, customers have raised their awareness when making purchases. As a result, people now value honest opinions from online forums more than ever. For instance, netizens have switched to platforms such as Dcard and PTT to make shopping decisions based on other people's user experience. In conclusion, despite the development of advertising has levelled up to appeal to potential customers, people are becoming more clever in making careful comparisons when buying goods. Thus, I believe the influence made by advertisements is less significant than that in the past.