Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

The image of young thin women has been published widely in media as an ideal appearance over the last few decades. This situation results in the misleading beauty standard that causes unhealthy habits among women. However, an educational campaign about the various definitions of beauty can tackle this issue. One major consequence of excessively promoting slim women as being ideal is people will be misled about the definition of beauty, increasing health problems. Due to a belief that a beautiful woman is the one that has a thinner shape, ladies are likely to limit their food consumption to lower their weight and avoid being shamed. They probably choose to cut their calories intake to maintain their bodies' shape by eating less, causing them to lack essential nutrients. For example, if women are afraid that having 3 meals per day can increase their weight, they will tend to eat fewer proportions of food which might not be enough for their bodies. Moreover, some may develop eating disorders if they concern too much. A viable solution to this problem is to educate people about various aspects of beauty through public campaigns. Because everyone is beautiful and charming in their own way, promoting diverse images of beauty in women helps increase awareness practically, encouraging people to admit various aspects. For instance, Victoria’s Secret, the renowned fashion company, has transformed the way of promoting its products from showing only good-shape models to normal women, some are even overweight. This campaign became popular and effectively changed individuals' mindsets. In conclusion, presenting young thin women as an ideal case for women can increase unhealthy lifestyles because it influences women to keep their weight lower than what they should be. This challenge can be tackled by raising awareness about the various aspects of beauty.