Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. What are the causes and what are the solutions ?

The number of crimes that are committed in urban areas is on the rise compared to rural areas in most countries. This is mainly due to unemployment and a lack of intimidating policies. There are several solutions that can address the phenomenon of increasing crimes in cities. Firstly, the underlying factor of elevating the crime rate in urban areas is owning to unemployment. In other words, when individuals suffer from a shortage of occupations, they are more likely to resort to committing offences on the grounds that face financial instability and have to feed their dependants which encourages them to commit severe crimes in order to survive. Secondly, the prevalence of crimes in cities is also linked to a deficiency of different punishments. To illustrate, the government are neglecting them and has not implemented any policies to cease them which pushes the criminals to commit offences without any fear. Hence, crimes will be inevitable if the authorities remain lenient with criminals. There are two solutions to the ubiquity of crimes in urban areas. One way to combat this is to create some job opportunities in various fields. By implementing this policy the crime rate will decidedly shrink since most city dwellers will have the odds to acquire a job. Thus, they can secure a superb and stable life. Another way to alleviate the crimes in cities is to implement some rigid rules that can assist in reducing the crimes.If, for example, an extensive custodial sentence is implemented for anyone who breaks the law, people will be definitely deterred and the crime rate will reduce significantly. Consequently, intimidating punishments are absolutely vital in abolishing crimes. In conclusion, creating some job opportunities and implementing some strict rules are effective in eradicating this dilemma.If the government adhered to these solutions, crimes in cities would genuinely demise.