There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? It is becoming increasingly common for people to form a small family instead of a big family. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of having a small family overshadow the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, having a small family could pose some challenges. Firstly, the children will have very few to no siblings to interact with, so they might get lonely. For example, children whose parents are busy with their jobs will usually play on their own so they might get emotionally isolated and get shy when they meet other people. Thus, since they are limited in developing their social skills at home, it can lead them to have a lack of communication skills and difficulty with human interaction. Secondly, children will likely be selfish because they are used to being the centre of attention, especially for a family with an only child. For instance, an only child will be highly unlikely to know how to share a toy or food with their sibling, which can therefore make them become selfish. On the other hand, I would argue that having a small family offers more benefits. Firstly, the parents can spend more quality time with their children so that a closer emotional bond can be built by paying more attention to their child’s well-being. Consequently, they could understand both their child’s academic and personal problems more, so that their children could be better taken care of and maximize their child’s growth. Furthermore, the parents can have less financial burden, which can therefore help them to fulfil their needs more easily. Building a family requires a great sum of money, so having a small one could help to cut the expenses needed to be fulfilled such as educational funds and daily needs. In other words, they can upgrade their quality of life and live a more comfortable life. In conclusion, while having a small family might cause the children to have limited access to social interaction and be more likely to be selfish, it enables the parents to have more time to spare for them and less financial burden. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the drawbacks are eclipsed by the benefits.