The most important aim of science shoud be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The ultimate objective of scientific development has been at the center of many ongoing debates, while it is well-accepted that the most crucial goal of any advancement in the world of science should be improving the quality of individuals' lives, I believe there are certain circumstances where prioritizing other factors over humans' lives might be beneficial. Primarily, it is of utmost importance to note that the provided funding for conducting research and scientific experiments mostly originates from public money. This, undeniably, holds researchers accountable against the impact of their studies on the overall quality of life that citizens experience. That is to say, when conseidered a national expenditure, society should benefit from the findings of the research industry. Additionally, the high- quality lives of individuals can go hand-in-hand with the development of science. It goes without saying that the more relaxed people feel, the more they will seek high-level thinking; logically, it cannot be reasonable to expect, say, patients suffering from HIV to focus on the side of the knowledge that would, in no ways, aid their condition. However, there are certain situations in which deprioritising the improvement of public lives would be necessary. Unfortunately, what benefits people does not always align with what is best for the Earth. With the Earth being the unique habitat of human beings, it is undoubtedly essential for us to consider its needs even if it requires a shift of focus in the target of science. In conclusion, generally speaking, science should dedicate its findings to creating a better quality of life because of the investment people make in research along with the possible further progression that individuals may account for by living a calm life. However, it is important to note that if the quality of people's lives puts nature at risk, it is best for us to reconsider our priorities.