Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for all types of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Our society has been governed by some rules since time immemorial. There are few people who are of the belief that there should be a fixed punishment for all kinds of crime. While others are of the view that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into consideration when deciding on a punishment. In the following, essay I will discuss both views along with my opinion. On the one hand, there are a variety of offences that are present in today's time and fixing one kind of penalty for all does not make any sense. In other words, people cannot be penalised in the same way when they have committed totally different types of offences. For instance, a man who has committed murder cannot be treated in the same manner as a person who performed theft in someone's house. Consequently, if this is the case, then people will have no fear of the law as the punishment is the same whether they commit a small or severe crime. On the other hand, in cases where the circumstances of an offence are taken into account when deciding on a punishment, then it not only serves justice to the victim but it creates an example in the society that how the criminals of heinous crimes will be treated by the authorities. For example, when the law of a nation says that the culprit of a rape case will have to serve life imprisonment in jail instead of a normal jail term, then it justifies the severity of the crime he has committed. As a result, people will be scared to commit heinous crimes against others. In conclusion, I would argue that countries around the globe should make their citizens aware of the laws of the country and if anyone tries to infringe on any right he or she will have to face strict laws. In my opinion, parents and teachers must give their wards and students knowledge and education at a young age so that if anything wrong happens to them then they must raise their voices against the culprit.