Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Instead, they should receive education and job training. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people recently think that it is ineffective to lock offenders in prison; meanwhile, re-education and vocational training tend to be preferable for them. Despite the fact that giving prisoners educational programs and training has significant advantages, I strongly believe that they should be sent to jail for their crimes. To begin with, criminals are sentenced to go to jail in order to ensure social safety. The general public will obviously feel insecure if lawbreakers are not sent to prison, and they may commit crimes again. Additionally, all citizens need to understand that committing crimes is morally wrong and deserves appropriate punishment. Therefore, the government should put criminals with serious sentences in prison in order to deter them and other contemplating criminals outside of society. For example, youngsters watch information about criminal deterrence on TV and will be careful about their behaviours or actions that relate to crimes if they do not want to spend a long period in prison. The second reason can be considered is that some offenders who have psychopath problems may commit serious violent crimes without feeling scared or repentant. As a result, it seems to be unsuccessful to teach or train jobs for that type of offenders because of their mental illness. Therefore, sending them to jail can be an appropriate option, and some periodic mental examinations from experts when they are in prison might help them feel more comfortable and healed. In conclusion, instead of opinions arguing that educational programs or vocational training are more effective for prisoners, I firmly believe that sending them to prison is a good solution for not only the offenders themselves to think about their faults but also the safety of society.