There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

It is true that married couples choosing not to have children has become prevalent in modern society. In this essay, I will outline the positive and negative effects of this trend. There are, I feel, two main benefits. Firstly, families who do not have children to raise can save time and energy to devote themselves fully to their profession. For example, my uncle, who is a scientist, spends most of his time working and doing research, enabling him to reach the peak in his field and attain an affluent lifestyle, and this invariably leads to him preferring not to have a child. Secondly, the cost of raising a child has become much higher in the modern world. If a family has a child to raise, they face an amount of spending such as food, education and healthcare, and this arguably leads to a burden to a family and is potentially extremely detrimental. However, there are still drawbacks to this development. The most obvious one is that society will face a low rate of baby-bearing and aged population. When families decide to not have children, there may well be not enough population in the future, in turn resulting in a lack of workforce in certain time periods. What this does is make it extremely harmful. China, for instance, has faced a low birth rate in recent years. As such, there can be a huge shortage in the labour force after 30 years, which is why not having a child can pose a risk to society. In conclusion, there are clear advantages and disadvantages of this change as I mentioned above.