Describe advantages and disadvantages of public transport.

These days, public transport is used by more and more people due to its convenience. The capacity of these means of transportation has risen owing to the development of advanced technology. However, there are some concerns about whether public vehicles provide positive input for society or if it is harmful in certain ways. In this essay, I will consider the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon and draw some conclusions. Let’s begin by looking at the positives of public transport. First and foremost, one of the main positives is that these vehicles help to reduce traffic congestion. As far as I witness, the capacity of a private car is nowhere as big as a subway; hence, during rush hours, the number of commuters driving on the road could be reduced significantly. Even more, recent research showed that personal cars and motorbikes can be considered as one of the elements that contribute to urban air pollution the most. Therefore, if the majority of the population decides to travel by bus or metro instead, the pollutants from transportation will be decreased dramatically. Turning to the other side of the argument, finance is one of the main problems. In order to fulfil an underground network, for example, the process requires a full set of completed infrastructures. Even the construction itself is in need of a wide range of land, skilful engineers and architectures, and so on. The government, therefore, can be burdened with debt if they are unable to manage the whole process appropriately. For instance, it takes over 10 years in Northern Vietnam to initially finish part of the metro systems, yet the other destinations have been carried on. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons to public transportation services. Although the cost of building and maintaining these is often over budget, especially for developing countries, public transport could eliminate traffic jams and become environmentally friendly for the community. In my opinion, its benefits definitely outweigh its drawbacks.