As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should pay for the cost. Discuss both views and give your opinio

Due to the increasing number of vehicles, more budget has to be put on roads. It has become a controversial topic whether it is the authorities' responsibility to pay for that or it is the drivers'. Both views will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, it can be said that citizens pay taxes and it is not fair to pay for any other thing. It should be the government that handles different cities' developments, such as road systems. To illustrate, Canadians pay 13% tax for everything they buy, thus it should be enough for the needed improvements in any section. Moreover, car owners believe that the cost of maintaining a car and buying fuels like petrol is high enough. So many people cannot afford more than that. On the other hand, extending road systems and maintaining them costs a huge amount of money, and users must pay a part of it through tolls. It can be a challenging situation for the related authorities. Facing a lack of budget, the quality of the actions can be affected. What is more, all the citizens pay taxes and many of them do not use the roads. As the government uses the taxpayers' money to provide the budget, it is not fair for them. To illustrate, there is a plethora of who do not drive a car; hence, a large proportion of their money should not be spent on that. To conclude, although the government is responsible for the development of road systems, I subscribe to the view that users have to pay their part; for instance, in some toll gates.