Some people think that in order to be successful in business one has to study at university, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a debate over whether a university degree is essential to achieve business success or not. Both views will be discussed in this essay and I believe that the latter view is more persuasive than the former. To begin with, there are a few reasons why a bachelor’s degree is advantageous to business opportunities. For one thing, it can prove the graduates’ intelligence, specializing in some particular areas. This is because they acquire professional knowledge in the universities. For example, students who major in administration can build a sturdy basis for their management tasks since they intensively learn accounting, personnel and audit. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I am of the opinion that studying at university is not necessary to attain the career fulfilment. One of the main grounds for this contention is that real experiences are more crucial than academic ones inasmuch as there is a huge gap between practical situations and theoretical guidelines. For instance, in problematic circumstances, workers who went through crisis are more competent than those who did not. Another reason commonly put forward is that personal aptitude and prowess have greater effects on successful business. Basically, university graduates are useless unless they do not have the ability to apply their expertise. Case in point, Steve Jobs and Mark Zuckerberg developed small start-ups to international corporations, even though they dropped out of university. In a nutshell, considering the above arguments, it is clear that, although having a university degree has some merits, without the certification people can accomplish business success.