Popular events like the football World Club and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that popular sporting events, such as the football World Cup or the Olympics, play a primary role in easing the friction between countries, and they give citizens an opportunity to safely express their emotions. These kinds of events are considered an approach to releasing international tensions as well as patriotic emotions. I strongly agree with the statement. To begin with, sports events at an international level can facilitate the tension between two societies by providing people the opportunity to learn their cultures and traditions. For example, during the Olympic games, fans who travel will stay in hotels in the host country. In this way, they are able to understand their way of life. Moreover, when events like the football World Cup are organized, fans of the two football teams have an opportunity to interact with each other in the stadium. This can help to unite countries who had misunderstandings in the past. On the other hand, at the beginning of an international sporting event, people express their patriotic feelings by, for instance, singing their national song. This is a way they can show their sense of patriotism. In addition, during a football match, fans scream and hug each other when their team gain a score, and after a loss, they have a feeling of sadness and they will show it. These are ways of expressing patriotic emotions through these events. In conclusion, I believe that having international sporting occasions can be the cause of not only world peace, even temporarily, but also patriotic emotions among the nations of the world. It’s a common belief that sports will eventually unite the world.