In some countries the elderly is put into nursing homes rather than being taken care of by their family. Do you see this as a positive or a negative development?

It is often considered that many old people are sent to care homes instead of being taken care of by their guardians. In my opinion, this is a completely negative development due to various reasons. Firstly, the main reason why old adults are being put in care establishments is the carelessness and mercilessness of family members. In other words, people nowadays are extremely cruel and selfish and are usually emotionally unavailable. For example, due to busy routines, these people don't have proper time for their family members, and as a result, they cannot handle the burden of taking care of old people. Because elder individuals require proper time, they fail to fulfil the requirements. Consequently, they are disowned by their children and therefore sent to care homes. Secondly, another reason is their upbringing which actually plays a vital role. This means many people learn from their surroundings. If they have a positive ambience, definitely they will be influenced by it. Moreover, children at a young age learn from their elders and take inspiration from them. As a result, they copy the same behaviours when they get older. For example, when youngsters see that their parents treat their older ones in a certain way, they tend to act in a similar way and consequently, put their parents into care homes when they get older. Finally, in conclusion, although some people support the viewpoint that older people should be sent to care homes, I completely disagree with this notion and I believe that is a negative development because of the aforementioned reasons.