Many people think that museums and art galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that museums and art galleries should focus on national arts as opposed to artworks from foreign countries. I completely disagree with the said notion. However, a number of arguments surround my opinion. There are several reasons to support my opinion. The primary reason is that museums and art galleries are a means to comprehend cultural heritage. In other words, students in every country are expected to learn the national history and culture, and visiting these galleries and museums helps them to remember the past for a long time. The reason for that is that our visual memory is long-lasting compared to eidetic memory. By concentrating on regional history and art, we can only restrict the public's understanding of our own country. In contrast, museums and art galleries display multiculturalism if they exhibit art and history from other regions of the world. This helps people comprehend many histories and cultures, which advances globalization. Secondly, International pieces of art can teach the populace more broadly. The majority of people are well-versed in the history of their own country but have little knowledge about other cultures. Therefore, visiting a museum with artefacts from many cultures is enlightening. For instance, a famous museum in Melbourne, Australia, the Shrine of Remembrance, attracts various tourists. It depicts the real-life experiences of Australians during World War II. More than 800 historical artefacts and works of art can be found there. One can easily remember it because they showed it with interactive multimedia, rare photos, and films. Hence, young people and adults can learn more about the customs, civilizations, and historical events that shape the current world by viewing and experiencing the plaques for various artworks. In conclusion, I firmly believe that a nation has nothing to lose by enabling its citizens to appreciate art produced elsewhere. The best outcome is the government's deliberate decision to fund local artists while holding international exhibitions.