The advantages of robots doing the basic serving functions in the entertainment, leisure and retail sectors of the economy outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The development of automation, specifically robots, in recent years has replaced human involvement in various sectors, such as entertainment, leisure, and retail. It is, therefore, believed that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks. While I agree that robots have brought dramatic advantages to these sections, I do not think they are sufficient to make up for the disadvantages. On the one hand, the utilization of robots in supermarkets or restaurants has led to increased efficiency and improved customer service. In today's supermarkets and department stores, robots are trained to quickly locate and deliver products to customers in just a few minutes. This allows busy shoppers to make their purchases efficiently and save time. Some restaurants also have their food and drinks served to people by robots, which prevents food droppings done by clumsy staff. In addition to this, maintenance costs have also been reduced significantly since robots do not require salaries, holiday breaks or get sick like real people. However, I do not believe having robots taking over jobs in the three mentioned fields does not lead to any consequences. It should not be forgotten that robots are created and run by humans, who are not perfect. Therefore, glitches and bugs may sometimes be found. However, unlike human workers, if a robot is impaired, the whole work chain will be unable to continue as the products cannot pass a faulty robot or machine, causing work delays and eventually, huge profit loss. Moreover, if a majority of jobs are taken over by robots, many people will become unemployed, which is not good for the economy. For instance, robots replacing cashiers, cleaners, and sellers in Japanese supermarkets result in thousands of people losing their jobs every year. In conclusion, although I acknowledge the advantages of utilizing robots in the entertainment, leisure, or retail industries, the negative impact on employment rates and the potential consequences when the robots malfunction outweigh these benefits and pose greater harm to society.