Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbles and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It cannot be denied that providing personal information while applying for jobs sometimes are required by many organizations. Some commentators are of the view that this trend is unnecessary, while, others agree that this data has practical prospects. In this essay, I will show the positive aspects and major backdraws of both views and provide my personal perspective. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why some people question this very practice of asking for personal information from job applicants. Firstly, these details such as marital status, personal interests, and hobbies could be used as a technique of judging people and the judgement could be biased. For instance, maybe someone has a hobby which is not liked by the higher authorities. So they refuse to provide the particular opportunity for him. This biased attitude could affect the recruitment procedure negatively because employers are looking for efficient workers. Someone's hobbies and personal interests are unrelated categories to predict someone's future performance. Secondly, the contemporary era is a period of information and technology. Personal information could be used to hack employee's sensitive belongings like bank accounts, and social media activities. That's why providing personal data to unknown companies is a matter of privacy. If some wicked companies sell this information which has marketing value to call centers and corporations who work in the field of data science, it will be a serious issue as well as could be used to manipulate people's choices and decisions. On the other hand, people who support this way of collecting personal information propose that these data could be used as a predictor. Those who have families tend to earn more and have other priorities such as maybe having to spend more time with their close ones. Furthermore, Some jobs require specific qualities for example, a manager should have some leadership qualities or a sales executive should be able to travel to regional areas for promotions. Unless companies ask for these types of personal information they do not have any other options to be sure about the applicants. Moreover, If companies know details about their employees, it will become easy to provide benefits according to their living patterns. In conclusion, I like to say that both sides have their own logic to support or disagree with the trend of collecting the personal data of the applicants. If companies can able to maintain the privacy of the applicant's personal information, it will be more appreciatable.