In recent years, more and more people are choosing to live in cities rather than in rural areas. What are the reasons for this trend, and do you think it has more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, big cities have their personas that appeal to many people to live. The contributing factor to this trend is the uneven development between central cities and rural areas. I believe if this phenomenon happens in the long run, it will create a huge deal of disadvantages. First and foremost, the transmigration rate is increasing due to uneven development programs between regions. As people cannot get proper facilities to support their lives such as health and education institutions, they tend to move and stay in cities for good. For example, in 2022, the Sumatrans chose to leave their origin to pursue a better life in Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia. With hopes that they will get better opportunities to grow in cities, staying in their village is not a preferable option. Whilst there are several advantages that will be obtained by people who live in cities, however, if the transmigration waves happen massively, the disadvantages will outweigh the positive sides. The most tangible effect is the economic development in rural areas will be even weakened. Since the areas lose their human capital as actors in most economic activities, then it becomes a huge deal to maintain the wealth rates. Take the same case as an example, the Sumatrans. As a result, of massive movement, Sumatra Island is very behind in terms of public facility construction. There is concrete evidence while the areas are losing their populations, it will be harder to pursue significant growth. To sum up, we cannot deny that many people are choosing to stay in big cities. The reason why they are leaving their origins is the development gap in rural areas compared with those in central cities. However, if this phenomenon continues to happen, the massive movement will create a wider economic gap, which I believe the negative side will outweigh the advantages that may appear.