Housing is essential for people. Some argue that the government should offer free housing for people who cannot afford it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who have difficulty buying a house. Some people believe that it is the government's responsibility to offer free houses for people who cannot afford it. In fact, I side with those who believe that the government needs to provide free housing for citizens for two main reasons. The main reason is to decrease the crime rate. In this modern era, many homeless hang around. They do not even have a place to take a rest. Moreover, this situation can lead to some crimes. They can easily be exploited by criminals as they are asked to steal money and sell drugs. By providing free homes, families from the lower class can have convenient places to live. It will make them feel protected and safe. The following reason is to improve the economy. By getting free housing, people can have a healthier life. It will protect them from harsh weather conditions. Thus, the government can also allocate funds for medical treatment for more important things. Furthermore, getting a free house also helps people to more focus on their lives. They can have the opportunity to get a better life such as finding jobs to fulfill their needs. Consequently, the number of jobless will reduce gradually. To sum up, not only crime rates will decrease because of free housing from the government, but it will also improve the economy. Having considered the benefits, I have no doubts that providing free houses will be a wise decision.