These days, it is pervasive to have people from two different generations mix in ‎the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this ‎situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.‎

It is true that multigenerational workplaces have become the norm in recent years. ‎Despite their apparent disadvantages stemming from generational gaps, I believe ‎that the advantages of this trend outweigh its drawbacks.‎ On the one hand, there are many reasons why it is difficult to work in a ‎multigenerational company. One primary reason is that since people from ‎different age groups typically have different mindsets, it may be challenging to ‎collaborate with a colleague who is at another stage of life. This issue might cause ‎some conflicts within a team decision-making process. For example, young ‎professionals tend to act quickly to seize the opportunities instead of deliberately ‎ think about the situation as senior employees do. Another reason is that ‎experienced peers could discriminate against trainees who are inexperienced. This results ‎in unhealthy behaviours within the company, and it hinders the productivity of ‎ their team.‎ Nevertheless, honouring diversity in workplaces brings several gains for ‎companies. Firstly, a diverse working group can observe a situation from multiple ‎perspectives, which leads to meaningful discussions and solutions. In contrast, if ‎all team members are at the same age, they might not realize the critical opinions ‎of other age groups. Secondly, by maintaining employees of different ages, such ‎companies can ensure a healthy talent and management pipeline at all levels and ‎positions. Senior employees may mentor younger ones in order to develop their ‎leadership skills, and managers are able to identify future leaders from such ‎internal potential candidates. Finally, the companies will bring the best out of ‎their people when they maintain harmony between professionals of all age groups ‎within their workforce.‎ In conclusion, people should embrace the multi-generations mix in today’s ‎workplace because its benefits shadow the drawbacks mentioned above.‎