Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It has been reported that consumers today encounter more advertisements than they used to. In my opinion, this phenomenon has brought about tremendous disadvantages to customers as it prompts them to spend more money. The customers, therefore, should be protected by practising self-control. In the past, people were faced with advertisements on a few occasions. Back then, mainstream media, such as television and newspapers, were some of the only ways for companies to introduce their products and persuade customers to buy them. As a result, if people had seen a wanted item through a television or newspaper advert, they would have had a long time before they could see it again and thus may reconsider whether the product was necessary. However, advertisements have changed significantly in the last few decades and have appeared in every social media platform people access. As customers constantly use those media websites, they have to face the product adverts many times and eventually succumb to the urge to buy them. For example, Vietnamese youngsters have spent more money on unnecessary, low-quality items because of pop-up advertisements on their Facebook pages. As most of those advertisements usually do not violate any national law, I believe governments cannot interfere with the way companies sell their goods. Therefore, customers may have to learn self-control and budget management themselves to avoid the adverse impact of increasing adverts. For instance, they could reduce their hours online to prevent advertisement encounters. If they cannot use social media less, they must shut down adverts as soon as they see them. Additionally, financial considerations should be taken to decide if a product is worth buying before its purchase. In conclusion, facing rising advertisements leads to more expenses among people. I believe that in this case, self-discipline and deep consideration should be practised to mitigate unnecessary expenditure.