In many countries around the world, rural peoples are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing trend of people moving out of their hometowns in the rural areas to persue careers in the more populated cities. This tendency is negatively affecting many countries around the world especially the developing ones. I think this phenomenon has a deleterious impact on the quality of life, the economy and the environment of both the rural and the central areas, and it will continue to do so as long as most well paid jobs and opportunities are more distributed in the bigger towns. In the more populated cities, when an influx of people move to work, study and live there, accommodations become scarce and more expensive. This is clearly seen in slums where the number of housings is conversely proportional to the number of people. It will also bring about more criminal activities like theft and drug abuse, as well as more prevalence of contagious diseases. Moreover, environmental pollutions are worsened in busy areas where people consume more products and release more wastes. An obvious example would be the PM 2.5 air pollution that is becoming a serious health threat in many capital cities with unsolved traffic congestions. On the other hand, when young workforce is leaving the rural areas, a stagnation in suburban development will ensue. There would be less educated people living in the poorer areas to improve their towns in many aspects, including educational systems, jurisdiction systems, and security. Furthermore, there would be less labour to carry on agricultural work which is the major source of income in the faraway provinces. To conclude, I believe that too much of migrational flow to the bigger cities contributes many social problems both in the major cities and the rural areas. This problem should be emphasized and solutions should be made to distribute more jobs and opportunities to people in the country, so that they can have good quality of life no matter where they live.