Some children spend hours evryday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is no denying that adolescents use their mobile phones for a long period of time on a daily basis. This trend is phenomenal in many countries around the world. This behaviour contributes to many negative impacts on both the children and societies, as I will discuss in this following essay. The tendency of youngsters using more smartphones may stem from the feasibility of obtaining the devices since phone companies are making cheaper, varied, and more attractive communication products, as well as broader coverage of internet connections. We can see that children are allowed to own cell phones at younger ages, and sometimes their phone usage is not properly supervised by their guardians. Many times teenagers stay up very late at night playing online games, watching series, or chatting with their friends. This not only affects the younger generation but also the communities. There are numerous drawbacks from this issue. Firstly, spending too much time on mobile phones worsens children's physical and mental health. This is observed in many schoolchildren who experience chronic eye strain, poor attention span, and obesity due to a lack of outdoor activities. Secondly, being online for too long can deprive children of the time that they should normally use for studying. Lastly, the young may be exposed to uncensored contents that can lead to problematic behaviours, including pornography, bullying, and violence. To sum up, an increasing number of children is spending too much time on their smartphones and I strongly believe that this affects them negatively in multiple ways. Parents, schools, and governments have to come up with strategies to control and guide our younger generation to use this technology appropriately, as well as make online society safer for them to use.