What distinguishes young people from their parents' or grandparents' generation is a lack of physical exercise. Today's generation are spending far too long playing computer games, chatting aimlessly on social networking sites or simply watching TV, and too little time being active. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that today’s younger generation tends to spend more time on non-physical activities such as playing computer games and just watching TV at home, resulting in being less active than the generation of their parents or grandparents. I strongly disagree with this statement because it has become easier for the youth to access athletic facilities with a cheaper membership fee and because social media has been playing an important role in raising their awareness of their health. To begin with, nowadays, we can see a large number of athletic facilities such as gyms in our neighbourhood. This can contribute to easier access to those kinds of institutions. In addition, compared to the 1900s, a monthly membership fee on average has become more reasonable. For example, in Japan, the number of people aged from 20 to 30 who obtained a gym membership has increased dramatically with about a 30% increase over a period of 50 years after there was an increase in the number of gyms and a decrease in the amount of payment for membership. Moreover, technological development such as social media significantly affected the younger generation in terms of motivation. This is because the progress in technology allows us to get stimulated more readily and effectively. According to a public opinion poll conducted by the Japanese government in 2020, a majority of the youth tend to get easily influenced by their favourite influencers, resulting in starting an exercise like the people in social media do in the hope of becoming an ideal body shape or appearance like them. In conclusion, there is an argument saying that these days, few adolescents participate in athletic activities compared to people in the past due to technological development. However, I totally disagree with the viewpoint because of the increase in sports facilities and because of more opportunities to get motivated by their favourite figures on social media.