Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is commonly accepted that every government wants to ensure a safe and fast commuting experience for its citizens and an efficient transportation system for trade facilities. Thus when the question arises if a government should focus on improving its railways rather than roads, many people tend to agree. I also concur with the statement that the government should spend more money on the railway system rather than roads. To begin with, railways offer a safer commuting experience both for citizens and merchants. The number of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries is far higher than that of railway accidents. Thus investing in a safer mode of shipping that is also fast is a much more prudent idea for any government. Rails can carry hundreds of people and several hundred tonnes of goods at a time while road transport is not built for that. For example, some shuttle trains are many times faster than those of private cars and public buses. Thus improved railways would save valuable time while offering a safe mode of commuting for people and businesses. Moreover, rails cause comparatively less environmental pollution. On the contrary, road vehicles are the main reason for increasing pollution all around the world. Climate change is a huge concern for every government in the world, and an efficient rail shipment system causes far less damage to the environment. Considering environmental benefits, governments should invest in railways rather than roads. For instance, many developing countries in Europe have invested heavily in developing their train system and reduced carbon emissions as a result of this initiative. To recapitulate concerning all about facts we can clearly see, I believe that a government - either in a developed or a developing country - should invest to build a safer, faster, greener and more reliable transport system, and the railway, for this reason, should get an obvious priority.