One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the improving medical system leads to longer lifespans and increasing life expectancy. While some people doubt the drawbacks of the development, I believe it is a blessing rather than a curse. On the one hand, a better medical system extends people's lives. Compared to a few decades before, humans can live longer now. However, a longer lifespan leads to several problems. Firstly, the population of elder citizens will increase and the proportion of retired people will become larger. The nation might face the difficulties such as a lack of labour population and the cost of the economic increase. Moreover, the funding for the younger generation will meet the potential decline since the government needs more money to take care of the elderly. However, these not something that cannot be solved. The government plays a vital role in setting up a complete social welfare system which benefits every age group. On the other hand, most of the elderly hold a great passion to devote themselves to the society. It is worth noticing that there is a large proportion of volunteers are elder people. They are willing to spend most of their time on charities after their retirement. From hospitals to museums, these kinds of volunteers chain the whole society together. Furthermore, because of the improving medical system, the elderly can now remain healthy bodies and provide support to their families. Most of the grandparents back the parents up by helping to take care of their grandchildren and the households. In other words, the elderly are not only someone who help run society but also our cherished family members. On the whole, the aging society brings several concerns but because of the positive impact which was brought from the elderlies, I indicate that the advantages of the improving medical system outweigh the disadvantages. Consequently, the development makes our future completely bright.