Some people believe that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adopt to a new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss these two views and give your opinion.

Owing to the globalization and opportunities posed across the globe, individuals to new countries more than ever before. Some people are of the opinion that immigrants should acquire the local culture when moving to a new place, while others are of the opinion to adopt it as a new environment but living as a minority community. This essay will discuss both viewpoints in detail and explain why in my opinion adopting a new culture is the way to go forward. People think individuals should adopt a culture of the host culture when migrating and this is mainly due to two main reasons. First and foremost, adopting and deeply absorbing the new traditions and heritage make it easier for an individual to make friends and family, which in turn can help to succeed both personally and professionally. Secondly, one can feel like their own home as they can enjoy all the festivals, culture, and traditions when dwelling for an extended period of time without missing their home country's memories. For instance, one can still be rooted in their culture by attending community gatherings regularly and keeping up with the principles of community. On the other hand, few individuals are of the opinion that one should live by being a minority and just adopt the new environment. This is mainly thought of due to the advantage of preserving their ethnicities, cultural values and traditions. Moreover, by being closely associated with minority groups, they feel safe acting against the atrocities of community hate crimes and compel authorities to take firm actions against the perpetrators of crime. However, this viewpoint does pose an increased vulnerability to crimes. In conclusion, this essay discussed the pros and cons of assimilating the lifestyle of a new country rather than living as a minority group and just acclimatizing to the environment. I am of the strong opinion to go with the thought process of acquiring and adopting new cultures and traditions, despite the risks of getting disassociated with own cultures.