Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A lot of health diseases are the result of foods and beverages that consist of high levels of sugar and therefore it has been stated that these unhealthy products should cost more in order to discourage people from buying them. I personally agree with the given argument and in the following, I am going to explain my view. Putting a higher price on sweet products increases the cost of people’s shopping lists. In this case, individuals will consider limiting the consumption of these foods since an extra expense is not a desired result for them and if they want to follow their current diet,they must manage this financial situation by excluding other utilities or earning more money to be able to cover these expensive foods and drinks. For example, I used to eat a cake once a week however, I limited my eating habit to once a month after the increase in the price of sugar. Higher cost for products makes companies redesign their strategy to cope with the competitive market. If the final price of manufactured foods and drinks is higher than their competitors, businesses will consider how to use less sugar or replace it with organic sweeteners to decrease the price. Consequently, the amount of sugar, that is going to be used as an ingredient, will level down and consumers are going to eat fewer unhealthy products. For example, a bakery in my hometown uses honey instead of sugar in its recipes and names its cakes as dietary sweets and people totally love them and buy them. In conclusion, expensive foods and drinks which have sugar, induce consumers to eat these harmful products less and force businesses to apply less sugar as their ingredients.