In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era, many individuals tend to live longer in some parts of the world, which makes the elderly continuously increase in these countries. Some people believe this situation will be beneficial because these experienced people can teach their skills to the modern generation of children. Conversely, these senior citizens will cause many troubles, like in China, where many employees have to work harder to support their old parents. I personally hold the belief that the disadvantages of having an aging population outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, citizens who have mastered their skills can convey this knowledge to their relatives and their children. In addition, these people can decide to work further at some university, even if they are retired. For example, there are many elderly who work at a university in Thailand, where they can generate income and feel happy with their pupils because this occupation does not require a strong body. Meanwhile, they can use this opportunity to exercise every day, which makes a healthy body for them. On the one hand, these people can cause drawbacks to their relatives since they cannot do anything by themselves, which makes their children pay attention to these people. Additionally, the younger generation has to advance in worker roles to make financial aid to the older generation, and some families have to deal with poverty problems and cannot produce enough support budget. To illustrate, in the case study in China, the number of aging individuals is more than the adult population, and there is a lack of budget for these workers, which means these people are supported by the government. Therefore, these people will cause issues for the government in the residual who lack of money. In conclusion, although older adults can work as a teacher and generate income by themselves, they cannot do it in the long period, causing drawbacks to their kin. In my opinion, I hold the belief that these people cause disadvantages more than advantages; besides, we have to reward them for taking care of us for a long time. Thus, they have to stay at home, and we have to support them.