Watching television is bad for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays people tend to spend the majority of their time just sitting on the couch in front of the TV. This is also true for children and it is harmful for them. Here I will discuss how children can take advantage of watching TV programmes for their cognitive development and how it affects them in terms of eye-related issues. Personally, I do believe that watching television should not be prohibited for children but there should be a daily limit. To begin with, inevitably, TV is one of the intrinsic devices in our life. Therefore, all age groups of individuals have a tendency to watch various TV movies, clips, and so forth. Children also spend a lot of time watching their favourite cartoons, or shows every day. By watching those kinds of programmes they can learn some foreign languages, other cultures, communication skills, or have fun in general. There are a couple of programmes that help children to think creatively and critically. One of them is called 'Zakovat' which is so popular in my country. Children are asked to answer some questions from different subjects such as history, basic mathematical quizzes, geography, and so on. Even though the audience cannot attend the show physically, their brain dives into the game subconsciously. Subsequently, the brain will start to think more accurately and critically. These sorts of characteristics in adults will be beneficial to succeed in their future careers. However, it is commonly observed that many children spend an excessive amount of their time watching cartoons which leads to some issues with their eyes. In 2020, the research carried out by specialists in California, USA, represented that sitting in front of the TV 2.5 hours per day leads to some eye-related diseases in the long run. For this matter, parents ought to take responsibility for their children's health by limiting time for watching TV during the day. By doing this, both sides will benefit undoubtedly in my opinion. In conclusion, I argue that parents have to take care of their children by letting them watch television for some exact time in a day which results in cultivating their mental health properly in the future.