Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer work plays a significant role in the society's progress. Some individuals lean toward the idea that it should be obligatory for young people to do voluntary activities in their leisure time due to its advantages for the community and themselves. From my perspective, I agree with the statement to a certain extent. On the one hand, using free time to help one’s neighbourhood can be beneficial to soft skills development and social circle expansion, take students as an example. Spending hours at school means that they are confined to a particular environment with typical daily tasks and familiar faces. Therefore, joining in new social settings and offering contributions for free is an opportunity for the youth to expand their connections and be creative in organising various programmes which demand different skill sets to cope with ensuing problems. However, forcing youngsters to volunteer while they are already swamped with heavy schedules could be inconsiderate. For instance, the amount of students’ school workload in Vietnam is so excessive that additional time must be spent outside classrooms to resolve it. Therefore, the little remaining time should be used for relaxation and recreational activities to lighten the academic burden. Furthermore, the meaning of volunteering lies in genuine altruism. Involving in charity work because of coercion would do more harm than good for the physical and mental health of young people. In conclusion, although using one’s free time for volunteering could improve skills and increase social interaction, mandating this meaningful action for the young can be irrational as it may be against their free will and lead to unnecessary stress.