Some people think that the government hould subsidise fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Other argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead.

These days, the consumption of junk food is becoming extremely popular, because it has a reasonable price and easy access. Some people believe that the authorities should reduce prices for healthy food, while others hold the opinion that taxation on unhealthy products needs to be implemented. In my opinion, the combination of the two is the best way forward. There are several significant benefits to reducing the prices of fresh foodstuff. The main reason is that humans start considering purchasing either fruit or vegetables as they become more affordable. This means that those who used to buy fast food only because of its low price might choose to purchase wholesome food more often. Consequently, a balanced diet will lead to better physical and mental health. In Australia, local fruits and vegetables are being promoted during their peak season. For example, berries, mangoes and peaches have very reasonable prices during summer. I strongly believe if this approach is considered seriously by the government, people will start buying more nutritious products. Additionally, taxation on unhealthy items may lead to positive impacts on people's health. Firstly, this strategy addresses the issue of unhealthy meal consumption preventing individuals from buying junk and fast food as it turns into less affordable items. For instance, in the UK, there is an extra fee imposed on soft drinks with a high sugar level to stop humans from excessive consumption of unhealthy drink products and to prevent addiction. In my opinion, this method is stricter than the first one but still efficient. In conclusion, the reduction of the cost of fresh foodstuff as well as the implementation of taxes on unhealthy products are both effective and beneficial. I believe, that if both strategies are employed it will discourage individuals from buying unhealthy products and fresh food for a reasonable price will become more attractive to purchase.