Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, numerous individuals would rather take medications and get some alternative treatments than visit their usual doctors; however, I believe that this is considered a harmful action, causing their health to be at risk. Initially, due to the ever-changing situation of the world and the alteration of lifestyles, human beings witness a more comprehensive range of unknown diseases. A vast majority of these diseases are caused by viruses and microbes which had not existed before. Accordingly, self-cure, using alternative medicines, and sometimes taking placebos can deteriorate the illness. For instance, a person who suffers from cancer may be required to have other types of drugs instead of taking the regular ones. Therefore, if he stops being visited by the doctor, he may be causing himself to have his illness exacerbated. On the other hand, a number of alternative methods of treatment are believed to be herbal medications, mental treatments, etc. Moreover, there are countless people who assert that the growing amount of chemical treatment methods has damaged our environment as well as escalated the number of sicknesses. As an example, I would mention some senior generations who believe that traditional methods of medical sciences and herbal medications are more influential. Likewise, they trust these traditional methods as they believe that they had a lesser amount of disease affliction in the past and that chemical medication itself is a reason for catching an illness. In conclusion, considering all the above-mentioned points, I am inclined to believe that diagnosis of a disease, determining the required medications and even changing the method of treatment must be monitored by an expert medical doctor.