Developments in tourism offer very little direct benefit for residents who live in these areas. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays people tend to visit more places because of their attraction towards tourism. It is argued that developments related to tourism offer minimal benefits to the people who belong there. In my opinion, I would completely disagree with this statement because it provides benefits for the local people in the way of selling products and it promotes opportunities for small businesses around the locality. To begin with, most of the nations primarily depend upon the income from tourism which attracts most visitors from outside countries. Incorporating development ideas like refurbishments or renovation in visitor attraction places will have a positive result in great remuneration. For instance, On pilgrimage journeys, people will spend more to collect memorable gifts from the localities to keep that forever as a remembrance that would benefit the local shops, daily wage people and the government in the form of indirect tax. So, investment in developing the area which acts as a tourist spot will definitely yield good money. Secondly, people who come on a long journey will always search for accommodations which is comfortable and will need a taxi or cab to roam around and, moreover they might need a good travel guide to explain in detail about the speciality in the area. In such cases, there is no doubt that small businesses get involved. For example, people who want to travel to more locations will acquire a taxi service which directly benefits the travel agency business. Hence, each and every person around the locality will directly or indirectly benefit from tourist activities undoubtfully. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree that innovations in tourism have vast advantages because they promote local stores for their product sales and encourage small businesses like hotels, travel guides, and shuttle services which indirectly provide a good income to the government.