In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the advances made in agriculture, millions of people around the world still suffer from hunger. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this problem and suggest possible solutions. One major reason for hunger is the fast-growing population. Although the rate of population growth today is relatively low, there are still millions of newborn babies every year, which means an enormous amount of food is required annually. Another contributing factor is the uneven distribution of food production around the world. Some countries, such as the United States and Australia, have vast and fertile land and an advanced system of agriculture, while some African countries have a large territory but an unfavourable climate for growing crops, which restricts the development of their agriculture. This is why the starving population today is most concentrated in Africa. Two measures are essential to improving the situation. From a short-term perspective, it is necessary for countries with highly developed agriculture to provide food aid to those in poverty and hunger to fulfil their urgent need. However, other measures are still needed to address the root cause of this issue, which is underdeveloped agriculture in some countries. With more advanced technology and management skills from developed countries, the majority of the starving population could get rid of hunger completely. In conclusion, a fast-growing population and the uneven distribution of food productivity around the world are responsible for the large starving population. To radically solve this problem, agriculture systems should be improved in many countries. By doing so, we can ensure that everyone has access to the food they need to live a healthy and productive life.