It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risk outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals argue that it is crucial to take on risky challenges in various aspects of life. From my perspective, although this opinion might bring about some demerits; the merits outweigh the demerits generally. On the one hand, some argue that it is not a proper idea to risk our lives, due to some rational reasons. Firstly, by taking lots of risks, we sometimes threaten our lives; to illustrate, when some individuals try to experience some challenging sports, such as paragliding, they sometimes face some fatal consequences, like crashes that can even lead to a painful death. Additionally, some risky and ambiguous investments, which usually offer a high amount of profit, can also cause dreadful losses or even complete bankruptcy; hence some people are not eager to have such a lifestyle. On the other hand, a vast majority of highly successful achievers owe their prosperity to their risk-taking characteristics. Initially, most of the highly successful entrepreneurs, have risked all their money and background career to work on an unclear idea, with no straightforward and predictable result. To exemplify, Steve Jobs devoted all his wealth and endeavour to producing the first computer-based animation although everyone was against his idea. His gamble resulted in a huge success with the ‘Toy Story’ animation. Moreover, the happiest people are those who try to make the most of their time in their lives and accept risky opportunities to make the most of their journey in this world. For example, the statistics show that seniors who are on the verge of death claim, that they regret not being a crazy risk-taker and missed the exciting opportunities that happened to them. In conclusion, although taking risks might have negative consequences, I consider this concept as an advantageous one, because mainly, we are not able to live our dreams or live the happiest of our lives without risking what we have.