Due to to low-cost airlines, many more people can travel abroad than ever before. Do the advantages that tourists bring to the countries they visit outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, it was not always easy for people to be able to afford to travel abroad on holiday. In recent years, however, international flights have been available at much cheaper prices and tourism has become an important industry for many countries. Despite the damage that hordes of visitors can cause, I believe tourism is advantageous to a country because it creates jobs and can contribute greatly to a country’s economy. Those who focus on the drawbacks of tourism tend to worry about the damage that large numbers of joy-seeking travellers can bring to a country’s natural or historical attractions. For example, coral reefs in many countries, such as Australia and Vietnam, are often dmaged so much by tourists that the whole marine ecosystem suffers. Furthermore, ancient historical treasures, like the Angkor Wat temple in Cambodia, are being worn down by the thousands of tourists who pound their stairs daily. Hence, in the interest of protecting valued natural and historical attractions, many understandably insist that tourism is a negative destructive force. However, I would argue that there are powerful benefits to a country of having a strong tourism industry and that not only do these benefits outweigh the disadvantages, but also that the aforementioned problems are relatively easy to solve. Firstly, tourism provides jobs for local people. As millions of visitors flood into tourist attractions, locals are employed in droves by restaurants, hotels and retail services, and transport and security companies. Opportunities are also created for locals to set up their own small businesses. Moreover, locals can be employed as tour guides to manage and educate tourists to prevent them causing damage. The more tourists that come, the more jobs that can be created. Secondly, tourism can have a huge impact on a country's economy in general. Tourists spend a lot of money on travel, accommodation, food, entertainments and so on. Many countries in the world rely on tourism to boost their economies in this manner. In conclusion, while it is indisputable that tourism can cause a lot of damage to treasured places, I would argue that because of the benefits of creating jobs for local people and boosting the country’s economy, and since there are ways to prevent the damage, the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages.