Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages.

According to some scientists, it is beneficial to start learning a second language in elementary school than further. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of starting to study a foreign language in primary school and provide a logical conclusion. To begin with, the two main advantages of this process are learning easier and development of memorising and concentration. Firstly, the young brain of children is more inclined to study something new. In other words, if the student learns the alphabet, basic grammar and vocabulary in primary school, further study tend to be much easier. Secondly, language learning provides the building of new neuron connections and structures the brain. Thus, students become more concentrated in other subjects and become more intelligent in the future. However, foreign language studying also has some major cons, such as lack of free time and difficulties with adaptation. A new strange language requires a lot of attention and time from the student. That means, that child would not have time for a private life and childhood. In these cases, this student may feel overloaded and stressed. In addition, children in 1st grade need to adapt to new places, surroundings and time schedules. Extra subjects for foreign languages will be a barrier to socialising and communication with classmates. To conclude, although the extra language in the first grade takes a lot of time and interferes with adaptation, it improves memory and concentration and makes studying easier. I believe, that these benefits outweigh the drawbacks.