Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars ?

Over the years many cities have had problems with car accumulation, wich have caused big traffic jams, but what can governments do to solve this issue? In this essay, I am going to prupose three possible solutions. Firstly: one alternative it could be that in the city, automobiles that contaminate more than the average, cant not be driven, and this is something that many European countries are doing. For example, in Germany you can not drive cars that have been builded before 1995, and this instantly reduces the number of car owners. Secondly: another policy that could work is to apply higher taxes to automobiles, therefore, if you want to by one, you have to pay more for it, and depending on how much it cost, the tax is going to be higher or lower. If governments really want to solve this problem, they have to impulse iniciatives that can cause real consequences. And thirdly: however, the two ideas that I mentioned before, can only work if there is a good public transport in the city. Because, if citizens do not have a lot of tube lines, trams or buses it will be impossible for them to move from one place to another. Nevertheless, there are some countries that have transport systems that can be us as an example. For instance, I went to Amsterdam and I was very surprised on the less number of automobiles that I saw on the street. And this was, because everyone was using either the metro, the tram or they were riding bicycles. In conclusion, if governments want to solve this issue, they have to reduce the number of automobile owners by policies that make them chose another way to transport themselves and at the same time, they have to invest in a good public transport.